Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Problems with tripod

Ukjonathan

Hi I’m a newbie here and even though I’ve loved space and the planets I’m now having problems with my SkyWalker. EQM35. I’m wanting eventually to be able to take pictures, reason for this tripo. I’m wheelchair bound and even on the lowest setting it’s far too hight for me to reach the eyepiece. I live in a third floor flat with a south facing balcony and have a decent view of the southern sky. Any help would greatly be appreciated

Are you using a telescope with a diagonal?

nkWylEIl.jpg

It's possible to rotate the diagonal downwards. Most astronomy needs to be done while seated comfortably anyway. I'm physically disabled and often need to sit underneath a tripod with the diagonal rotated. Also, an extension tube can help lengthen the distance between eyepiece and diagonal.

VvWGh7fl.jpg

Not all extension tubes are 2". Some are 1.25".

pBySujXl.jpg

I don't know if this helps.

Edited by Nightspore

Hi Nightspore,

Thanks for your input and yes I’ve got a skymax127 for starters but I’d like a70mm scope the Skymax was given to me by a friend that tried astronomy but moved away and did not have time. He said if I did not like to sell it. Yes it has a diagonal and 1.25 eye pieces. I’ll look into that but doesn’t it  it swollows more light with it having to travel through an extension. I’m sure I’m wrong so I will look into that so thanks again for your quick reply

48 minutes ago, Ukjonathan said:

Hi Nightspore,