Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Altair Hypercam 183c gain and offset

BigRobMartin

I'm new to dedicated astro cams, and the Altair was what I could get at my price point. I have used Altair Capture and not found a gain setting that gets me low noise either unfiltered or with a cls filter. I have found several people say I should star around a gain of 30 or so and adjust from there. I get decent stars, but the other data is noisy and grainy. I have tried several settings in both directions with little change in results.

I tried switching to APT, and the settings there are WAY different, and I just have no idea where to start. I can't even get a decent preview image to know if I'm in focus. 

Apertura 72edr, Apertura flattener and Altair Hypercam 183c cooled are what is in the image train. I am using quality usb3 cables and the laptop I am using is a 10thgen Core i7 with usb3 ports. I have zero issues with getting quality images with either a full spectrum Canon 1000d or an unmodified 80d using BackYard EOS.

I finally have a few clear nights (rare in the summer and early fall in Florida) and I'd really like to shake this out!

Thanks for any help!

9 hours ago, BigRobMartin said:

I'm new to dedicated astro cams, and the Altair was what I could get at my price point. I have used Altair Capture and not found a gain setting that gets me low noise either unfiltered or with a cls filter. I have found several people say I should star around a gain of 30 or so and adjust from there. I get decent stars, but the other data is noisy and grainy. I have tried several settings in both directions with little change in results.

I tried switching to APT, and the settings there are WAY different, and I just have no idea where to start. I can't even get a decent preview image to know if I'm in focus.