Hi from North Yorkshire (UK)

Demon

Hi All,

I’ve been intending to introduce myself on here for a while but been struggling a little with my enthusiasm for AP.

Some of you know of me from a different forum, but also will be great to talk to new faces (not quite but you know what I mean).

I’ve been on and off Astro for around 15 years starting off in a local society just under the North Yorkshire Moors, in my time I've helped install domes with them, star parties, the usual, etc, then eventually had a break to get married and kids but now got my own obsy up and running-ish.

I am an Engineer who likes big boys toys/projects and while I enjoy Astronomy, I do have to say I enjoy the challenges of astrophotography (of which there are plenty - technically Bortle 4 but in my experience most of the time fighting seeing now the technical challenges are moving).
I started off years ago with what turned out to be a really nice little 4” refractor on a EQ3/2 mount with clock drive and it has been great fun for what it cost. I later got a second hand 12” Dob light bucket which was a great contrast. I also have a 5” Maksutov with cheap goto mount and although I haven’t been that impressed with it, it has taught me a great deal.

Since these I managed to get hold of a crazy monster large equatorial fork mount (26" between forks!!!) (clearly made by an mechanical genius – think its some prototype but never been able to find out who or where is was made, sadly the electrics left a lot to be desired – however that’s my bag). I’ve not only been getting that working and guiding but also now have a mini system applied to the EQ3/2 which I use to develop it further gradually adding new features.

Been more recently using a 80ED to take a step back from the larger heavier closer in stuff that viewing effect more - and moved to the somewhat more forgiving wider field DSOs. However now just going back to Newt.

Below are more details on my Equipment and comments – with a few photos.