Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Which one of these should I get?

Gerrypfc

Afternoon folks. Complete novice here and looking to buy one of these 2 scopes to get myself into astronomy. 

Both are preowned, as just wanted something cheap incase it doesn't ignite my interest as much as I hope (isn't likely not too, but you get where I'm coming from lol) 

Skywatcher 114/500 az goto, comes with red dot finder, 25mm, 10mm, 6mm plossl, 4mm plossl.... £120 - £140 depending if I can haggle them down

Skywatcher explorer 130p az goto, comes with everything you get as stock by the looks of it....£165

Would like them to observe planets / dso and relatively short exposure astrophotography with a attached dslr camera. (I understand eq tracked mount is best for this) 

Is there much difference in what I can view and the level of detail I hope to achieve? 

I would opt for the slightly larger aperture of the 130p which should do you well for planetary and some bright DSO, dependent upon the darkness of your skies, most DSO do not show up to be much more than a monochrome fuzzy blob even in larger apertures as the limiting factor is our own eyes of which are not optimised for darkness rather than the instrument being at fault and details do not show until you are into the very large apertures, but do not let that stop you as once bitten it becomes hard to not keep going.