Would this be any good for astrophotography?

Looking at this nikon camera, which says it's had ir full spectrum mod. 

Would this be any good for astrophotography? Read that ir/uv light makes stars look bloated... Would the clip in filters combat this? 

Complete novice so any advice appreciated 

Thanks 

Screenshot_20220131-171441_Facebook.jpg

• Like 1

14 hours ago, Gerrypfc said:

Looking at this nikon camera, which says it's had ir full spectrum mod. 

Would this be any good for astrophotography? Read that ir/uv light makes stars look bloated... Would the clip in filters combat this? 

Complete novice so any advice appreciated 

Thanks 

Screenshot_20220131-171441_Facebook.jpg

It can make the stars bloat but from what I have seen they mostly come out fine, I chose not to modify my camera as even with filters most cameras struggle to get the white balance correct (owned a 60Da) and yes you can edit it out but with say a few hundred shots during the daytime it will be very tedious. Back to your point of will the above be suitable, the answer is most certainly if at the right price.

Ah ok, this is a picture she put on the post, which she said was taken with the camera.. But obviously you've had experience with using a similar spec camera. 

Admittedly my telescope probably isn't the best option for astrophotography. 

Currently got a skywatcher explorer 130p az but have just won a nexstar 6se on a competition 😁. (again, not ideal, but it'll do. I plan on either buying a Celestron wedge for it... Or just making my own). Read on another forum, another guy was managing 5 minute exposures with this. Which is probably the maximum I'd want to go for atm anyway 

Screenshot_20220201-113723_Facebook.jpg

• Like 1

47 minutes ago, Gerrypfc said:

Ah ok, this is a picture she put on the post, which she said was taken with the camera.. But obviously you've had experience with using a similar spec camera.