Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

New setup, what can I realistically capture?

stuartpb

Hi all, new lad here. I'm a keen photographer who has always had an interest in astronomy but never married the two until recently. My usual flavour of photography is landscapes and urban. I want to get into astrophotography but don't have a massive budget and also don't want to spend a fortune on kit until I have gained some experience. I've spent hours watching video tutorials and reading/watching reviews. That has helped but also hindered in some way too as the options are wide and varied. 

I ended up choosing wide field astrophotography to start with. This is the kit I've purchased so far:

Mount: Sky Watcher Star Adventurer 2i Pro Mount.
Telescope: Sky Watcher 72ED Refractor Telescope, with stock dovetail removed and longer one added. Also added a dovetail clamp to aid balance.
Additional Optics: StellaMira 2″ Field Flattener with T / M42 Adapter
Camera: Fuji X-T3 with T Adaptor
Guide scope: ZWO 120mm Mini Guide Scope
Guide Camera: ZWO ASI120MM-Mini
Additional Hardware: ZWO ASIAIR
Tripod: INNOREL RT80C Carbon Fibre Tripod
Power: 3x USB2/3 Power bricks, 1 with PD (Power Delivery) for camera, 1 for mount and 1 with PD (Power Delivery) for ASIAIR device.

I wanted a mount and telescope which are as portable as possible, as I hike into and out of a lot of locations for my photography. All the above kit fits in my 75l rucksack with my camping gear stowed in the outer pockets and the top of the sack.

So my question is, what can I reasonably hope to capture with this set up? 

Thanks,

Stuart

Hi Stuart welcome to the forum. You have a decent amount of kit there and you will be able to capture all sorts of DSO's and some of the bigger galaxies. 

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...