Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Indoor or outdoor storage

Left Eye

What a friendly group this is!

Here's the quandary I referred to in my intro message.

I'm very new at all this, but I so enjoy looking at the planets and DSO's! I started about 18 months ago with a 6-inch Dobsonian telescope. I keep it in my office (inside), and just lift it out a window and onto a table when I have a clear night. With the base and all it only weights about 35 lbs., so it's not really a problem--but...

I want to get a bigger telescope--10-12 inches--which will weight 75-80 lbs. I could still lift that weight now, but I have doubts about lifting it each night 10 years from now. I don't have a garage available, and I want to protect my equipment as much as possible. 

Here's my plan, and I'd like you to pick it apart and tell me if it will work.

I'm planning to build about a 6 foot tower structure keep things off the ground and get a better horizon. Attached to the safety rail of the platform deck I will install a resin cabinet (Rubbermaid type) to store the telescope in, so I don't have to physically carry it out into the cold each night. Eye-pieces, etc. will stay inside in a bag. I'm hoping to keep dust and moisture out with weather stripping and possibly install a small vent for use in the hot weather. I'm not into computer-linked systems or automated gadgetry, so that isn't a concern. 

I live in the damp and drizzle of the Pacific NW, so I'm especially reaching out to those of you from the UK, Germany, or other places with similar climates. Would you leave your scope out in an insulated resin cabinet in the backyard? 

By the question is also posed to my good neighbors a few miles to to the north in Beautiful B.C., or to any of you who are here in western WA.