Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

getting started

Peopleofthemoon

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to astronomy and telescope. but I have been watching many astronomy related videos and after a long consideration, I would like to start exploring the night sky and witness the beauty with my own eyes. However, I am quite lost on how I should start, the gear I should get and the consideration behind each options. do you have any article, videos or personal recommendation regarding this? It would be greatly appreciated if someone could point me out to a right direction.

I have been saving up for quite some time for this, and currently my budget for the gear is around $600 AUD. any advice would be really helpful!

Cheers!

I would recommend a basic 8x40 or 10x50 pair of binoculars and a guide book of the southern skies, you have many large and bright deep-sky objects that I was lucky to see once.

I checked out the scopes at Bintel, they have a good selection in your price range.

If you are not sure if you will stick with the hobby don't spend too much on the first scope but do buy a reputable brand like Skywatcher, Meade or Bintel. If you go too cheap the view wont be great. 

Mid-budget the Meade Infinity 70mm on an Alt/Az mount will be good start, the Altitude/Azimuth (ALT/AZ) mount it is on will be easier to wrangle with than the Equatorial mounts of the alternatives.  Equatorial (EQ) mounts at this price point can be tricky to set up work but if you are prepared to tackle an EQ mount then the Polaris 127mm will give you a much better view. Personally I would avoid the Polaris 90mm.

At the top of your budge and the best bang for buck and overall viewing experience IMO is the Bintel BT152. 

Bear in mind binoculars are difficult to hold steady.

Hy6lJ4Cl.jpg