Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Help Please.

Newbiestarguy

I am brand new to this type of photography (and I'm on a serious budget). I have yet to make my first attempt at Astro-Photography but have been reading a lot and am confused about what type of filter to use on my Nikon. There are so many different types of filters on the market I'm wondering where to start. I will be shooting from a bortle 3 environment. Any suggestions would be a great help. Please remember I'm brand new to this and am on a budget so multi=hundred dollar filters are a bit out of reach for me.

Thanks for your input.

Hi, if you're in bottle 3 ... I'm jealous 😂

You won't really need any filter to be honest.

What sort of images are you going for ?

• Thanks 1

I'm hoping for some "deep space" type imaging. I'm shooting with a DLSR Camera and wide angle lens. Having never done this before I'm looking for advise and am going to have a bunch of fun doing it!

So you will be on a fixed tripod initially. A rather costly equatorial mount can be thought about later maybe but great images can be achieved from a fixed tripod with the right settings in the meantime.

Here is an image of Cygnus I did a long time ago with a fixed tripod using an exposure rule that limits star trailing to an acceptable level.

cygnus.jpg

Edited by Galileo
  • Thanks 1

Probably best to get stellarium for phone or pc (free software) and have a look to plan an image.

Use the 500 rule to work out maximum shutter speed ( 500 ÷ focal length ) so roughly 20 seconds at 24 mm.

Google your camera to find the best iso to use and shoot raw in manual focus/manual F and shutter speed.

Take plenty of time getting focus spot on then take as many shots as you can