Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Dither

woodblock

I wasn't sure if I should put this in mounts or in software.  I'm just getting into the groove again after a midsummer break.

I'm using  HEQ5, ASI1600 camera, PHD2 guiding, APT and EQmod.

I took some pictures and was looking at the star shapes by blowing them up and I saw that the stars were not round but elongated slightly like a very small dash. The effect was the same over the whole picture and the orientation  of the lines was the same over the whole picture. The length of the dash was not dependent on exposure time.  PHD2 guiding was working well as far as I could see.

Then one of the pictures had a satellite trail across it but it had a tiny sine wave superimposed on it and I realised that the sine wave was oriented in the same direction as the star dashes. At this point, by chance, I turned off the guiding, took a  picture and lo and behold the stars were perfectly round. So it appeared as if PHD2 was causing the problem.

I think it might be something to do with Dither but I don't know much about how it works. I found some settings in PHD2 but there seems to be no way of turning it off completely. Is dither done by PHD2 or by EQMOD or by APT.

Any ideas would be welcome.

Cheers

Steve

Dither is done by PHD2 Steve - it instructs EQMOD to move the mount very slightly. However it dithers between exposures. It moves a few pixels in a random direction so making it easier to find hot pixels which don't move.

Can you post a stretched picture or two of the images? It might be something else causing the problem.

• Like 1

Thanks Terry, I think I'm talking rubbish.