Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Newbie Question: Photo Stacking and One Shot Color (OSC) Camera's?

Jaime

Hello all,

As a newbie I'm trying hard to embrace the whole notion of photo stacking. But as we all know, all camera's have a shutter lifespan. My camera for example has a rated lifespan of 150000 actuations.

In all of the research I've done on Photo Stacking, the one common denominator is to take "lots and lots" of shots. One well-known Astrophotographer said he typically captures 100 Light Frames, 75 Dark Frames, and 75 Flat frames. That's 250 shutter actuations per target. And let's say you're shooting 3-5 targets that night. Now multiply each target by 250 shutter actuations, and it becomes easy to see how in Astrophotography, your shutter count will grow rather rapidly. 

While I do understand that my camera isn't going to last for ever, I also don't want to expedite it's demise into the camera graveyard.       

With that in mind:

1. Is Photo Stacking still needed for images captured with a One Shot Color (OSC) camera?

2. If so, will less shots (shutter actuations) still produce great results? 

3. Do OSC's even have shutter's / shutter lifespan's? 

4. Pros and Cons of OSC's?

Thanks for your input. 

Regards,

Jaime

Hi Jaime,

I rarely aim for more than one target in a session unless it goes behind a tree and another target comes into view. Then the next clear night I will go back to target 1 again.

The average number of shots I get per session is around 80 x 6 minute long subs but this really is dependant upon the time of the year in my latitude (53 degrees North)