Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Anydesk

Carastro

Does any-one use Anydesk to remote control their imaging rig?

I changed to this a short while ago after reading about it and people recommending it, and it is certainly easier to link up to the the remote computer than Teamviewer which i had been using before.  

Was extremely pleased with it the first few times of using it, but in the last few sessions, it keeps dropping out all the time.  It's easy enough to get it back again.  I put it down to poor internet connection the first time, but last night I could see a good signal in the obsy, through Anydesk, yet it was still dropping out every few minutes.  It is annoying, does anyone else have a similar problem?

Carole

• Like 1

I have been using Anydesk for 3-4 months since Teamviewer decided, wrongly that I was using it for commercial. In that time I've only used it maybe 7 or 8 times for imaging sessions  (Weather) but many more times to connect to my two computers when I'm away from home. I have  found  it to be excellent and rarely had connections drop, the only time it happens really is if I'm moving around and the device I'm working on swops access points on the local wifi. 

• Like 1

@dmack

Thanks DMack, I moved to Anydesk for similar reasons.  TV asked me once if I was using it for business purposes and somehow I managed to by pass it.  But having heard so many others having the same issues as you I thought it wise to have "another string to my bow" so to speak and thought I'd have this lined up.  

I was so pleased with it the first few times I used it I haven't gone back to TV.