Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Pleiades

Mirrorgirl

Hi

Here's my image I did with 30 seconds exposure..it's not great but I'm still learning it was stacked in DSS and then processed in pixinsight if anybody can help me get rid of some of the light pollution that would be great thanks 

pleades finished jpeg.jpg

• Like 2

6 hours ago, Mirrorgirl said:

Hi

Here's my image I did with 30 seconds exposure..it's not great but I'm still learning it was stacked in DSS and then processed in pixinsight if anybody can help me get rid of some of the light pollution that would be great thanks 

Nice image! If you are using DSLR camera there are clip filter that allows you to remove the light pollution.

• Like 1

16 minutes ago, Mirrorgirl said:

For you know where I look for it on my camera it's a rebel t3i

I own a canon 1200d they are both EOs . At the link below you can find the clip filter I am using

https://www.altairastro.com/filters-22-c.asp

I can send you a separated message with pictures of the two filters I have bought for light pollution.

I hope the above helps

• Like 1

7 hours ago, Mirrorgirl said:

Hi

The best way to remove light pollution is by using channel extract in Pixinsight to separate the individual RGB channels. Check which channel is furthest to the left in the histogram transformation, open Linear fit, use that channel as reference and apply to the other two channels. After that use DBE on the 3 channels to remove any gradients, if your images have vignetting, use the division in the correction setting, if they have a normal gradient, use the subtract setting. Re-combine the image in Channel combination, then process as normal. Be careful when stretching the image, the one you uploaded has serious clipping in the black, this will kill any fine detail in the image.

• Like 1