Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Celestron Astrofi 6 Maximum useful magnification

badbishop

Hi, I'm new to astronomy and have just bought this telescope. It has two eye pieces 10mm and 25mm with magnification of 150. Can I increase this with other lenses without losing clarity of image?

Thanks

I live on Crete and, although there is a magnificent observatory here, there aren't any shops specializing in telescopes. That's why I'm asking for your advice🙂. The skies are mostly clear and there isn't any light pollution to speak of.

I'd be very grateful for any help.

Depends what you are observing. A 5mm eyepiece will give 300x, but achieving that regularly on anything other than the Moon would probably be difficult. A zoom eyepiece might be a good idea to experiment with. The Orion 7~21mm impressed me for its retail price.

Also, bear in mind a 6" catadioptric can take up to 90 mins to an hour at least to acclimatise or cool down outside. Maybe longer. SCT's have a microclimate inside the OTA and need to reach a thermal equilibrium where the outside and inside temperatures are the same. Until they are, warm air currents inside the tube will prohibit achieving a sharp image. 

Edited by Nightspore

Hi and welcome to The Yard.

It wasn’t that long ago that I was in your position (venturing into astronomy) and questions re eyepieces as useful magnification were at the forefront of my mind. The question re ‘useful magnification’ has recently been discussed at some length in a thread headed “eyepiece for glasses wearer” so it may be worthwhile for you to read it as much of it will apply to your situation. A number of eyepiece (EP) types are also discussed in the same thread.

If you look in the equipment review section you will also find some good reviews on different EP types.