Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Ready to buy first telescope and looking for feedback! BRESSER Messier 6" Dobson

jeepjesus

https://www.bresser.de/en/Astronomy/Telescopes/BRESSER-Messier-6-Dobson.html

Hello! I'm buying my first telescope and have been looking at the Bresser Messier 6" dobsonian telescope, it's one of the dobsonians that fit my budget (~350euro) and is also available in stock. I'm going for a dobsonian because of what I've read many recommend beginners, the fact I'm only interested in observing for now and because it simply feels like a good fit.

However, I have very little knowledge and I'm wondering if there are things I should know before buying it, accessories I might want to get with it? I'm also interested to hear if you think it'll be a suitable first telescope.

One thing I'm planning to do is build a three legged table for it to stand on, I saw a couple designs online to follow/take inspiration from.

Thanks!

EDIT* I'll add that I've also been keeping a look on the second hand market but it's difficult to find anything here and apparently impossible to find something in the region I live in. I am looking daily though!

Edited by jeepjesus

Not sure on that particular model but I started with a 6" Skywatcher Dob, and loved it !

I did pretty quickly get aperture fever and upgraded to a 10" though 🙂

I'm not a great fan of Dob' mounts. They are pretty stable though as they are designed to be placed on the ground. The practicality of placing it on a three-legged (or other) table would concern me. Any shift or movement would be greatly amplified at magnification through the eyepiece.

ivSaYu3l.jpg

I can sometimes get away with a 90mm Mak' on a Dob' mount standing on a garden table. Although I prefer it mounted on a tripod.

rfPGbPKl.jpg