Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

cameron

aCameron

Hi, I am new astrophotography. I have caught a few good ones of the moon. However, I want to learn how to capture the night sky i.e the stars. I have a Canon sx540, any advice on settings etc. I am new to using this kind of device as well as it was a gift. I'm used to using my phone camera so have no idea on how to use a proper camera lol. I would appreciate any advice, tips, settings.. anything. T.I.A

20220117182052_IMG_0366.JPG

Edited by aCameron
  • Like 2

5 minutes ago, aCameron said:

Hi, I am new astrophotography. I have caught a few good ones of the moon. However, I want to learn how to capture the night sky i.e the stars. I have a Canon sx540, any advice on settings etc. I am new to using this kind of device as well as it was a gift. I'm used to using my phone camera so have no idea on how to use a proper camera lol. I would appreciate any advice, tips, settings.. anything. T.I.A

You are already on the way, I know that does not help, but I do not think I am the one to help as I am also on the same path albeit a different way.

Hi and welcome to The Yard. I can not help with your questions as I am not a photographer, but I am sure someone will be along with more advice for you soon.

Nice moon pic🙂

22 hours ago, aCameron said:

I started this hard journey of astrophotography less than one year ago. You will be able to find my old post here.. (and even some decent pictures ) some of them are very long to read but there are all the info you need and what equipment to use/buy. I am not into astrophotography with phone I tried but you can’t take long exposure which is what you really need to get decent images.