Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Beginner seeking some equipment advice

Zsofi

Hi everyone,

I am really new to this, but was always interested in astronomy, since I was a child.

Now it's time to buy my first telescope.

I watched some videos, read some articles, yet I am clueless.

What should i buy? What did you buy for the first time?

I would love to see the deep space object, also wouldn't mind some of Jupiter's moons, but i know, I suppose to choose.I can't.

I am living in a village, not far from a small town, so light pollution is not high at all, I can watch the sky from the garden. so if it's heavy, not a problem.

I was looking at the skywatcher starquest 130 series, I saw it is very popular. Or is there something else?

Thank you in advance.

Hello and welcome to the forum. A decent pair of 10x50 binoculars and a copy of a book called "Turn Left at Orion" which will guide you around the night sky.

Beginners will usually be best served by a telescope called a Dobsonian. There are many around and Skywatcher make one called a 200P. However beware that astronomy is an expensive hobby so my advice would be to start small with binoculars before you invest in a telescope and mount.

I think binoculars are a good way to start. However, holding them steady can be a problem. Personally, I would recommend a small refractor as a starter scope. Terry has a good point though, astronomy is not a particularly cheap hobby. Refractor scopes can be expensive depending on what sort they are. The least expensive refracting scopes are known as achromatic refractors

og21iVbm.jpg