Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Hello

CHARLIE644

My name Michael Powell and I’m new to star gazing and I’m after some advice on astrophotography.  So when I’m approved I’ll be asking loads of question and will be after tones of advice.

Hello. 

Ok.  Thank you.

I would like some help with astrophotography.

I have a telescope with a focal length 400mm with diameter 70mm.  I enjoyed looking at the moon.  However I would like to photos of the moon, other planets and eventually other celestial objects.  I used  my mobile phone and an adaptor.  I got some good photos but it was a real pain in bum to set this up.  
I have a canon 50d dslr.  I connected this to my telescope but the photos were less than inspiring. A lot worse than the mobile phone ones.

I am more interested in astrophotography, than just looking at the moon.

1.  Would it be better to get a good lens for my canon for astrophotography?

2. Get a better telescope and continue using the canon 50d dslr?

3. Get a dedicated Astro camera to add to my telescope.   ie one of the following or something like it (Bresser full HD deep-sky camera, ZWO ASI224 high frame rate colour camera, etc)?

or is there another option I could follow.

I have also looked at the skywatcher series for mounts.

And thanks in advance for any advice.

Michael

Astrophotography is complex and a pain to set up as you say.   Many of us decided to have a permanent set up inside an observatory for this reason.  However we have all been where you are now.  

I should tell you that different equipment is needed for deep sky imaging to planetary and Moon imaging.   

The most important thing for deep sky is your mount.   It needs to be an equatorial mount capable of guiding.