Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Hello from Lat 38.01.35 in the USA !

Lloyd-ss

Hello from Virginia in the USA! I was lurking around several of the astronomy forums and came across this "polite and friendly" amateur group. The "polite and friendly" caveat was, by itself, enough to make me join, but I dug deeper, and yes, this forum has a nice, comfortable vibe.

I am a total newbie (an old newbie) and acquired an Orion XT6 from a relative, which I soon read was a good beginner telescope. I am a retired engineer who likes to make things, and the technical aspect of the hobby intrigues me more than the "celestial" aspect, at least at this time.

I took the scope outside for the first time about a month ago and was in awe of the view it gave me of the moon. I was thinking, OMG this is not what I was expecting. There weren't too many stars out that night, but I clumsily pointed the scope at a bright star just west of the moon. OMG, that is not a star!! Are those bands around it? I went inside to look on the computer to see what it might be, and YES, IT IS Jupiter. At that point, I think I was hooked. I went back outside and it was no longer in the eyepiece???, but I found it again, and, OMG, the objects move quickly through the field of view. Faster than I expected!

I think I have realized that this is a highly technical hobby, and not just a sit in your easy-chair activity. This could be FUN.

Thank you for providing this "comfort zone."

Lloyd

• Like 5

• ALTAIR

Hi Loyd, welcome! Thanks for the comments - that's exactly what we want to make this forum, a positive fun place for astronomers to enjoy the hobby!

• Like 2

5 minutes ago, nickaltair said: