Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

How many "South's" are there, and how do you properly find them?

Lloyd-ss

Hi everyone, total newbie here. I am a retired engineer and am learning all the new lingo. Some of it seems logical and makes perfectly good sense, but some of it is quite confusing and the explanations never really "click" in my brain.

Where I live (at Lat 38) my sky visibility to the north is very limited because of tall trees. But looking south, there is magnetic south, true south, solar south, polar south, and celestial south. And probably more, even though some of the ones I listed might be identical.

I think true south, polar south (the earths axis of rotation) and celestial south are all the same. Correct?

But what about solar south? I can find the exact time each day when solar south (the sun highest in the sky) is supposed to occur. This exact time varies across the 60 minute span of the time zone.  Is solar south always at AZ 180 degrees? Or does it vary throughout the year. I can stand a 4 foot carpenter's level vertical when the sun is at AZ180 and draw a line along it's shadow. Is this true south, or again, does it vary throughout the year. I seem to find conflict between various sites as to when solar south actually occurs. This does not help the confidence level at all. BTW, finding the North star in the forest where I live might not be possible, but I have not given it a 100% effort yet.

The carpenter's level method would be the easiest and most repeatable method for me right now. Can anyone help clear the fog in my head about this?

Thank you,

Lloyd

P.S. My first technical question!

Hello Lloyd, have a play with this. It might answer a lot of questions. There are freeware versions for Windows and Unix platforms. Also there is SkyPortal  for Android.