Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Which setup would be best?

I want to get into deep sky astrophotography and am looking for opinions on which would be a better rig. 

My initial thought was to go complete ZWO just for ease of use as I am a beginner.

ZWO FF65 APO F 6.4 Focal length 416 ( I am not a big fan of the f 6.4 but I do like the focal length and price)

ZWO AM5 Mount

ZWO ASI533mm pro Mono camera with their electronic filter wheel and filters

ZWO AEF

ZWO Asiair Plus imaging controller

ZWO ASI120 MM mini guide camera

ZWO Mini Guide Scope

After digging a bit deeper I found many people complaining about the stability of the AM5 mount, their quality control, and they also claim ZWO do not stand by their product and honor their warranty.  I don't know if that still hold true but that makes me a bit leery to go with my initial choice.

My next idea is as follows:

Redcat 71 WIFD f 4.9 focal length of 350

EQ6 R Pro Mount

ZWO ASI533mm pro Mono camera with their electronic filter wheel and filters

Pegasus Astro Focuscube 2

Laptop as my controller

ZWO ASI120 MM mini guide camera

ZWO Mini Guide Scope

My final idea is:

ZWO FF65 APO F 6.4 Focal length 416

EQ6 R Pro Mount

QHY 268-PH monochrome with their electronic filter wheel and filters.

ZWO AEF

Stellermate Pro controller

William Optics 32 mm f 3.75 Uniguid scope

Qhy 5-iii 200m Guide camera

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Steve welcome to the forum. It would be useful to know your budget and what type of objects you would like to image.

The three options you have all look good but others on here will chime in with their thoughts too.

I’ve not heard any problems with ZWO customer service but in the UK we tend to purchase from astronomy retailers who all give warranties.