Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Canon EOS Noise reduction

Damo127

Hi all, 

Hoping someone with experience can help me out with a question. 

I've a Canon 700d and am just starting out with astrophotography (in fact i've never owned a dslr before so starting from total beginning). I want to get the settings sorted for deep sky objects - have done lots of internet research and here's my current understanding. 

Camera attached to Skymax 127 Mak via T ring

ISO Probably 6400

F4

Focus infinity

Shutter speed bulb

Intervalometer will control shots 20 second exposure for 150 odd shots. I'll then take darks, flats, bias - i know thats not the ideal amount for a DSO but given i'm just getting started i want to find out what works - i don't know how well my tracking will hold up yet but suspect it won't be great. 

My question relates to some noise reduction settings in the camera. There's a setting for long exposure noise reduction + another setting for High ISO noise reduction (which can be set to low, standard, high). One video i've watched suggested turning the long exposure noise reduction off but leaving the high ISO setting on. I'm ok with this but don't know if doing this means i have to allow for a large interval between each shot in case the camera is taking more then one image to cancel out the noise. I was going to set the intervalometer at 20 sec exposures separated by 10 second intervals - will this work with High ISO turned on? or should i just turn off all noise reduction and deal with that in post processing? I'm assuming these settings related to all Canon DSLR's and maybe even exist on other makes too so this question might relate to many people.

Any guidance would be great