Welcome to Backyard Astronomy Space - please register to gain access to all of our features. Click here for more details. ×
SmallWorldsForum Microscopy and macro photography - a companion forum to BYA ×

Image Size

Peter B

I am an absolute novice and this is going to be, I'm sure, an absolute novice question so I beg for some patience understanding!

Since I took up 'back yard astronomy'  a couple of years ago I have enjoyed viewing the night skies though either my Bresser MC 127 Maksutovor  or my Skywatcher Statravel 102 refractor  and I'm beginning to understand these two telescopes' very different characteristics now.

Then I got interested in astro photography so I bought a T ring and T adapter for my Nikon D5000 DSLR and spent  an afternoon on a bright but very hazy day checking the camera out on each telescope using a phone/TV repeater mast about 750m away from my house as a target.

I am puzzled by the results.  I can't understand the difference in magification between the two telescopes, much larger with the Mak than with the refractor, with the same camera at prime focus on each scope.  They are of course very different focal ratios with the Mak at f14.9 and the refractor at f5, but that doesn't affect image size does it?

So ignoring the quality of the pictures which I didn't bother with because it was an experiment with the kit, not the photography, could someone please explain the massive difference in image size between these two telescopes with the same DSLR attached at prime focus.

Thanks 

DSC_0001 (2).jpg

DSC_0004 (2).jpg

Edited by Peter B

Hi Peter. The Bresser has a focal length of 1900mm whereas the SW has a focal length of 500mm. The Maksutov is like a zoom lens which gets closer to the subject. Whereas the Skywatcher is more of a zoomed out lens. The F number is just a ratio of focal length divided by aperture diameter and is nothing to do with magnification.